Project

General

Profile

Bug #1469

Updated by tuxillo almost 9 years ago

Hammer history mounts allow access to deleted files. 

 

 This can be an issue if you realized that this data should not have been  
  
 available in the first place. 

 

 An alternate scenario is that group membership changed, and you don't  
  
 want the new group members to have access to past data. 

 

 I think we should address this in some sort in the release.    One way is  
  
 to only allow the owner to access the snapshot, and ignore group/other  
  
 permissions on snapshots.    This is probably very inconvenient,  
  
 especially for root owned system directories. 

 

 Another way would be to somehow combine current and past owner/flags,  
  
 but this is probably hard to reason about. 

 

 cheers 
    
    simon

Back